20 things I am happy about today

May 1, 2009 at 10:35 am | Posted in Miscellaneous | 9 Comments

It is sunny here today for the first time since I returned from my secret trip to Michigan.

I’m extra-psyched because I’m in my home office, surrounded by windows, loving the sunlight.  And while the mold remediator is back at work re-remediating the mold in my basement (found out yesterday that we’re still just slightly above normal), I get to sit here and surf the internet work.  Really, it’s a win-win – I’m surrounded by natural light and working in a comfortable environment, and the mold remediator is downstairs cleaning my basement (with a vacuum.  so awesome.).

So it seemed like a perfect time to join in the fun over at The Inspired Room and let you all know what I’m loving about today, this week, this month, this year, this life (in no particular order).

  1. Sunshine and warm(er) temperatures!  How can you not love life on a day like today?
  2. All things blooming!  The daffodils in Michigan last week were wonderful, I got a sneak peak at the loveliness that is my mom’s garden last weekend, and it looks like things here in the twin cities are getting ready to bloom.
  3. College campuses.  I went to a seminar at the University of Minnesota yesterday, and I can’t quite figure out why, but I love walking around college campuses.  Something about the big beautiful buildings, the great landscape, the amazing people-watching.
  4. Being reunited with my husband by the end of the month!  I might have quit my job yesterday.  More on that later.
  5. My dog.  What would I do without him?  He cracks me up, and talking to him makes me feel like I’m not living alone and talking to myself (which is kind of the case).  He’s sunbathing at my feet right now.
  6. My family.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but I have the best. family. ever.
  7. Girlfriends.  I am so lucky to still be in touch with my awesome group of friends from high school, and my best friends from college, and even a few awesome friends that I’ve had since I was just a little girl.  It’s amazing to me that even if I don’t talk with them everyday, or even every week, that we can just connect up and everything is normal.  Love you guys.
  8. Flexibility at work.  I could not have made it through the past 2 months of moving, organizing, etc without it.
  9. My down comforter.  I got lazy last time I made the bed and skipped the top sheet.  I’m loving just cozying up with the comforter at night.
  10. Cookies and ice cream.  Frankly, I’ve been loving on these a little too much lately.
  11. Reading on the bus.
  12. Movers that will pack up everything into boxes for me.  No packing = happy Jen.
  13. My digital SLR.
  14. Egyptian licorice tea.
  15. The possibilities for the future.
  16. Readers of this blog.  I *heart* you.  Thanks for supporting what has become a writing addiction.  And I use the term addiction loosely.
  17. Pictures from our wedding.  What a great day/weekend!

  18. Having a roof over my head currently, and having the ability to look for a cute new roof in Michigan.
  19. Having a husband who loves his new job, and who will support me, whether I decide to get a new job or start a business of my own or sit on the couch and eat twinkies all day.
  20. Finding cute pants that fit and are on sale.  (I wore a new pair of spring khakis from the gap yesterday that I snagged for a mere $30.  It was a welcome change from my usual jeans-and-t-shirt ensemble).

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aw! You look so cute in your wedding pictures!! & I LOVE finding pants that fit AND are cheap! 😉

  2. What a great list, so many things to be thankful for. Love all the pictures.

  3. What a GREAT list! I am glad I found your blog through The Inspired Room! I plan on visiting again!

  4. What a great list, so many things to be thankful for. Love all the pictures.
    Oops, should have said great post! Waiting for your next one!

  5. Thanks so much for your lovely comment! What a great list you have…hopefully one of us will win that contest. 🙂

  6. What beautiful wedding pictures! We all have so much to be grateful for and it’s nice that you take note of that 🙂

    p.s. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. I wonder who Sweet Pea is. Do you remember when you were my “Sweet Pea”?

  8. Thanks for the sweet comments, everyone! And, of course I remember being your “sweet pea”, ggg!!

  9. Your friends are thankful for you too. I love your blog, and someday will be coming to you for LOTS of advice on home matters. Hope to see you soon. Miss you!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.