A Decent Meal

November 9, 2008 at 9:40 pm | Posted in Food | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

I am excited to report that I made a pretty darn good dinner tonight. This is the first good meal in a string of lousy meals for me – we’ve even had to throw away a few of the really terrible meals and order out. I kid you not. They were that bad.

So, this morning I set out to make a post roast in our new slow cooker (an awesome wedding gift!). And ta-da! 8 hours later, a fantastic roast came out.

Here’s what I put in the crock pot:

  • carrots
  • potatoes
  • onion
  • roast (sprinkled with garlic salt)
  • garlic
  • 3/4 cup water
  • a few dashes (maybe 1/4 cup?) of worchestershire sauce

Brother Robby came up to help peel more of the study wallpaper and enjoy some roast.

Here’s Robby and J enjoying the roast. Yep, I was so excited that I just had to take a picture.

We also picked up some orange candles from Ikea today, so I was psyched to light them. I think they look pretty darn good with the new table runner, and they fit perfectly in the glass candle holders (both are new wedding presents… it is just so fun to use all of this new stuff!!).

A closer view of the candles and J. (Robby was making a face in this one, so I had to crop him out).

And now it’s your turn to spill your guts: what’s your *best* crockpot meal? Leave a comment with the recipe so that we can try it out!!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So nice of the boys to clean up before your nice meal!

    Believe it or not I tried this idea from my hairdresser and it turned out pretty good:

    Pork chops (I quickly browned them in a pan first and don’t buy the really thin kind.

    Apple, peeled and quartered, core removed.

    Drizzle pancake syrup over the top for a little maple flavor and let it cook for who knows how long? (probably not as long as a pot roast)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

