My greatest kitchen accomplishment.

December 15, 2008 at 6:53 pm | Posted in Food | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

People! I have IMPRESSIVE! news to share! Gather round, and I will tell you a tale of kitchen greatness.

Ready?

I MADE COOKIES IN MY HOUSE, WITHOUT AN OVEN.

I know, right? You’re amazed. I’m amazed. We’re all really amazed that edible baked goods are coming out of my stove-less kitchen.

Here I am, mixing up the batter. Lovely, no? I really, really, really, really wanted to use our new kitchenaid classic stand mixer (wedding present!), but since my countertops are exactly 12″ x 24″ (slight exaggeration), I decided that there wasn’t enough room. So, instead, I used our brand new hand mixer (maybe this blog should be called gifts we got at our wedding and how we use them?).

After I mixed ’em up, I put them on the George Foreman grill (wedding present!), and baked grilled them.

This is a ridiculously long and annoying way to make cookies – with only 8 on the grill at a time, and 8-10 min cook time, it ended up being a complete and total pain.  But, still!  Baked goods!  In my house!

And they even looked and tasted like cookies that came out of the oven – not bad for an afternoon’s work…

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is quite impressive! Making cookies without an oven! You are in charge of all meals when you are here! It’s official.
    You wouldn’t be able to fit even 8 cookies on my little George Forman.

  2. You’ve got to be kidding me!?! Do you close the lid or leave it open? How did they not burn? Does your George Foreman have an adjustable temp?

  3. I know, right? Impressive!

    My George does have an adjustable temp, as well as a flat “baking plate” because it’s super-deluxe. And I did put the top down… some of the cookies have lines in them from the top plate, but if I pushed them down on the pan, they turned out okay.

  4. That is impressive! Keep that up and someday you’ll be as good a cook as your mother. and your cooking Grandma and Aunt Tami!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. HA HA HA! Thanks GGG for the compliment (I think). I am also quite impressed. I have made spaghetti on the grill but never cookies in a George Foreman oven. I see a new tv cooking show in your future, move over Martha and Rachael!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

