Crockpot Cooking: Salsa Chicken and Black Bean Soup

December 18, 2008 at 8:19 pm | Posted in Food | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This one’s a real cold-weather winner.  Yummy!  It earned high praise from Jason, which is like the ultimate cooking award.  Seriously.  Because the boy went through a phase where he ate nothing but lettuce.  This is what I have to work with.

I combined the following in the crock pot: 2 chicken breasts, 2 cans (drained & rinsed) black beans, 4 cups chicken broth, 1 cup frozen corn, 16 oz salsa, 1.5 tsp cumin. (The recipe came from here).

Then, I wondered if I should have cut up the chicken breasts.  How weird is it to have soup with 2 giant chicken breasts floating in it?  Whoops.

Picture stolen from A year of Crockpotting (Hey! My recent crockpot dinners haven’t been turning out recently, so I’ve gotten out of the habit of taking my own picture of the dinner…)

As it turns out, the chicken was easy enough to pull apart after it was cooked.  The recipe suggested adding 1/2 cup sour cream at the end, but I hate sour cream, so I didn’t do it.  I added cheese instead.  As the picture above shows, you can add avocado, too, or cilantro.

I think next time I might throw in some extra hot sauce to really get our cold-weather noses running.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Which brother did you cook? And I wouldn’t call him “chicken”. He may be a bit tentative at times, but not chicken.

  2. Please tell me you didn’t feed Barley the leftovers; he’s with us for two nights and beans and Barley don’t mix. (Unless it’s that great soup place in downtown Milw.)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

