Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

February 4, 2009 at 10:29 am | Posted in Food | 5 Comments

Our new, shiny All Clad crock pot arrived last week.  I was so happy, I almost cried.

Nah, that crying part is a lie.  But I was really happy.  Because this is our main kitchen appliance.

So I made some chicken and wild rice soup (based off of this recipe for turkey and wild rice soup).

I combined the following: 8 cups chicken broth, 2 chicken breasts, 2/3 cup uncooked wild rice, 1 cup carrots, 1 cup celery, 1 yellow onion, 1 tsp sage, 2 T balsamic vinegar.  Then, I set the crock pot to low for 9 hours.

I’ve started purposefully putting whole chicken breasts in the soup instead of cutting them in advance.  The meat is super-easy to pull apart once it’s been cooked that long and you avoid having slimy meat-cutting hands.  Also, I can usually persuade Jason to do that part (by saying: You do it so much better than I do! You’re just so good at it! — It’s what I say to persuade Jason to do just about anything.  And you know what he’s really good at?  Taking out the trash.  Yep, boy does that much better than I do.)  I also usually make him cut the onion, because I can’t be within 300 feet of a chopped onion without doing the stinging-eye-onion-cry…

The final product was delish (thank goodness, because I’ll be eating soup leftovers for the rest of the week).  I think Jason may have even approved, even though he doesn’t like soup (also?  he hates leftovers.  I don’t understand.).

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is one pretty crockpot!
    I always had the onion cutting problem too and Jim loves onions(why didn’t I make him cut them?).I started seeing these onion goggles around which supposedly eliminates the ugly cry part. I am too cheap to pay $20 for them so I bought the 3/$1.00 kind and they work just as well.
    I’ll try that soup recipe; it sounds good.

  2. Martha (as in Stewart) says to light a candle while cutting onions and the tear-causing compounds will be burned away. Or you can do what I do – wear contact lenses.

  3. Freeze some of that soup and some night when you don’t want to cook you have dinner all done. I wisk I could get Grandpa to leave enough for me to freeze!

  4. I’ll try that, Amy. I’ve tried holding a match in my mouth, cutting it under water, you name it. Nothing has worked until the goggles.

  5. A coworker suggested that I freeze the onion for an hour or two before cutting it.

    But that requires me to think about cooking an hour in advance, which just isn’t going to happen when I’m throwing stuff in the crockpot before work in the morning!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

