Master Bedroom Ideas

May 6, 2009 at 8:44 pm | Posted in Inspiration, Moving, Our Bedroom | 7 Comments

I have some exciting news for all of you:  Remember this sweet little house?  We have an accepted offer on it!  As long as the inspections don’t turn up anything too drastic, we’ll move in in 2 short weeks!

I’ve already started re-decorating the house in my head.  We’ve decided to do the master bedroom first, since that’s been the room that we’ve always done last.  Also?  It’s nice to get your clothing, bedding, toiletries, and other things that you use everyday organized shortly after moving somewhere new.

So, I thought I’d share a few pictures of bedrooms I love.

First up:  I love this clean and cheerful light-colored bedroom.  The soft yellow walls are really sweet.

(Martha Stewart)

Alternatively, this neutral light grey wall paired with a bright and fun duvet is also appealing.  If the walls were painted a light neutral color, I’d be able to easily change out the accent colors in the room (i.e., bedding, etc) if I ever get tired of them.

Porridge Clothing via Design Mom

This bedroom is sort of a compromise of the above – light green walls, paired with white bedding and bright accents!  Fun, bright, cheerful, and easy to change if/when I decide I need a change.

Apartment Therapy

Although, I think if we do put color (i.e., not white, grey, or beige) on the bedroom walls, it will likely be some shade of blue.

Flickr User xJavierx

I’ve been loving navy rooms, too.  Check out how clean and crisp the white bedding and mantle look against this inky blue.  I love it.  But would it make me feel like I was sleeping in a cave?  And if it did, would that be a bad thing?

Domino (via Bryn Alexandra)

And now, it’s your turn: what’s on your bedroom walls?  Do you love it?  If no, what would you love instead?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] the­ o­­rig­inal po­­st: M­as­ter Bed­ro­o­m­ I­d­eas­ « o­ur ho­m&#1… Share and […]

  2. It’s a good idea to do the master first. At least you’ll have a cozy place to sleep after long days of working on the other rooms.
    I love the pale yellow and the soft blue. I told Jim last week that I want to paint our room that shade(or a similar shade) of blue. I think the soft blue is a relaxing color.
    Good luck and congratulations!
    (What color is Barley’s room going to be?)

  3. Wow! I don’t know how you can think anymore. I wouldn’t sleep all night with all these exciting things going on. Good luck! I love my French blue bedroom with the white woodwork at the lake. It feels cool and calm and yet quite dramatic.

  4. Yayyy!! I’m SO excited for you! I really hope we get the same result today or tomorrow! I’m totally with you on room colors- either something neutral or light/smokey blue. If you’re anything like me, you’ll want to change/spruce up the decor all the time, and I think those are GREAT colors to work with! Congrats girl!!

  5. we have a deep, dark peacock blue in our master. it’s not for everyone, but we love it.

    bedroom5

    • Wow. What a gorgeous color! Your bedroom is beautiful!

  6. […] 26, 2009 in Bathroom, Before Remember when I said we decided to start with our master bedroom? Well, the wallpaper border came down far too easily, and I wanted to see if the bathroom wallpaper […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

