a new search for a new home

April 20, 2009 at 5:46 pm | Posted in Moving | 7 Comments

Now that we’ve sold our two houses, it might be time to look for a third.

Is this crazy?  Yes. Because people should never live in a house for only a year before selling it.  It’s not a good investment.  It’s a pain in the rump.  I get that.

Yet, I continue to house hunt.

In our past 2 moves, we’d assumed we’d be in each location for at least 5, if not 10 years.  If that’s the case, then buying makes sense.  However, we’ve lived in each house 1 and 1.5 years, respectively.  It’s not a good track record.

Yet, I think we might actually live in Kalamazoo 5-10 years.  I hope we live in Kalamazoo for at least 5-10 years.  I am really. sick. of. moving.

So, well, we’ve been looking at houses.  Again. I actually love looking at houses, love imagining what I would do with them if they were mine – little bit of paint here, new cabinets here, tada! – beautiful.

I also hate searching for a home.  It’s tricky to find the perfect one that will fit all of your needs – especially when we’re not certain what new needs we’ll have in the next 5-10 years, if/when we decide to expand our little family of 3.

We’d like to find a 3+ bedroom, 2+ bath home on a few wooded acres.  I have my heart set on a little fixer-upper project, or maybe something that’s old but has already been fixed up.  I love the charm of older homes, especially the craftsman era, but if they haven’t been kept up, we could be facing major problems.  So we’ve also been looking at newer homes – ranches from the 70s and new construction from the 90s.  We’d like privacy from the neighbors in the form of trees, and hey, if it happens to be on a lake or have a pool in the backyard or have granite countertops and newly-remodeled bathrooms, we certainly won’t complain.

Anyways, I thought I’d share our favorites from last weekend’s house-hunting trip.  You’ll notice that it’s an eclectic bunch…

This 5 bedroom, 3 bath number was alright on the inside.  The bedrooms were a bit small, and the inside of the home was dated, but it was located on 5 very wooded acres.  Also?  This one has an indoor pool in the back, which means that I could hire a cute pool boy it may have a bit more maintenance than we want.

This house was absolutely pristine on the inside.  Every little victorian detail was attended to – beautiful wood floors, wood baseboards, two staircases, and everything was decorated according to the period.  But?  No closets.  As in 0.  That kind of kills the deal for me.

I love love loved this little 1890s farmhouse.  It’s beauty was covered in the most fantastic and hideous 60s regalia you’ve ever seen.  But I know she’s got good bones.  Good bones, a fireplace, and 4 bedrooms (with closets).  I love her.  I’m not so sure about the neighbor’s farmland 20 feet from my back door.  But if she was in a forest, she’d be as good as sold.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The Victorian is adorable; it reminds me so much of Haddonfield!You definitely need closets. I speak from experience since this house is very short on closet space.
    The farmhouse looks great too.
    I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun looking(more fun than selling).

  2. I like the last one, but then, I grew up in a house surrounded by farm fields, and the barns that this one has are perfect for chickens, some sheep, a pig or two, maybe a small horse or donkey. Happy house-hunting! I’m glad you found some that you like!

  3. I totally agree with you about the last one- add some woods, and she’d be perfect!

  4. Well, since you want to have your own adorable “troop” of children, I say you search or a 4 or 5 bedroom house. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I think you should get the farm house, that way when i come live with you i can have my very own bedroom! ..or get the first house and hire the cute pool boy for me. 😉

  6. Keep looking, these don’t scream Jennifer (and Jason) to me. Maybe there is not enough work involved?

  7. The farm house gets my vote. You already have experience with rats, so chickens, cows and pigs should be no problem. AND one of the out buildings would be a perfect spot for Jason’s brewery.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

