Kicked out

April 6, 2009 at 7:42 pm | Posted in Family, Miscellaneous, Moving, Uncategorized | 5 Comments

We spent much of our weekend kicked out of the house.  This is a good thing – we had 6 showings and a successful open house.  This is also a not-good thing – I am exhausted and want nothing more than to sit on the couch and watch TV, maybe craft a little bit, hang out with Jason and the doggy, and just generally ignore the fact that life as I know it is about to {temporarily} change in ways that might be less than fun.

Instead, though, we went out.

Saturday we celebrated 6 months of marriage.  I bought Jason a Tangy Taffy, and he didn’t complain too much when I pilfered some of the McDonalds Fries he ordered for lunch.  Because we are healthy and romantic like that.

Since we were unexpectedly kicked out of the house at 10:30 Saturday morning, I got the opportunity to prove that I can indeed shower, scream commands at my husband, and wash floors, dust, vacuum, and make the bed in 25 min or less.  That is what I like to call “multitasking” but I’m sure Jason has other names for the insanity that is his crazy, rushed, and stressed-out wife.  Happy Anniversary, honey! {ha, ha, you are stuck with me!}

We drove to Northfield to watch brother Robby’s LaCrosse game, arriving early enough to walk around the town for a bit, taking pictures, and reliving my college years.  Northfield is pretty much the cutest little town ever, and I wish I had taken better pictures to convince you all of that, but you’ll just have to believe me.

Mmm, yes.  We considered stopping in the Rueb and grabbing a beer, but it was still kind of early in the day.  I don’t think I’ve been in here since the week before college graduation, and I wonder what it would be like to go back.  I mean, I may or may not have used someone else’s ID to get in here and sing karaoke on the weekends.  Maybe. And this is one of those times that I am quite happy that digital photography and facebook came about AFTER I graduated.  Because you will NEVER see those pictures, and that is something we can all be very, very happy about.

Anyways.  We also took a few pictures of us and the dog, mostly because we were still killing time at that point, and also because there was a somewhat picture-esque sidewalk along the Canon River.  Barley was loving staring at the ducks.  Did he want to play?  Or eat?  We will never know.

And, Jason snapped a good one of me!  Even if Barley is still staring at the ducks.

We then headed over to the game, which happened to be the longest game in the history of sports, with the exception of that one recent basketball game involving Syracuse that went into like 6 overtimes.  You can tell how closely I follow this stuff.  Are you amazed and impressed that I am winning my March Madness pool?  By a lot?  {high-fives self.}

The game lasted 2 hours.  Do these things usually last this long?  I had no clue what was going on 99% of the time, and it was cold and overcast.  We saw Rob out on the field a few times, and his team won, so that was awesome.  Barley made a puppy friend, and spent the rest of the game either ignoring or trying to play with the little guy.

Jason found doggy treats in his pocket.  

We headed back to Minneapolis, made a quick stop at the Mall of America, and then celebrated our 6 months of marriage with pizza at Black Sheep Pizza.  Yummy!  (If you’re local and you haven’t been yet, you should go.  Or at least order pizza takeout, since the wait for a table can be long on the weekends.)

We spent Sunday afternoon running errands.  Sunday evening we went out to dinner with friends and then claimed some much-needed time with our couch and TV. 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. haha! I love the romantic “anniversary”! Glad you’re back home & enjoying your couch!

  2. Northfield is indeed a very cute town. I actually have a few relatives that live there (cousins in town, and an aunt and uncle just out of town, and some more cousins just out of town). I love that old hotel downtown. Its like stepping back in time 100 years.

    • Oh yes! And the Tavern (restaurant in the basement) has fantastic brunches. We’d go there whenever family came to visit…

      Have you seen the Jesse James Days reinactment? Last year, we learned that it was the #1 historical reinactment in the country. Kind of awesome. And the rodeo is always fun – we had a roommate from Sweden and we dragged her along. It was a pretty great time.

      • Sadly, we haven’t made it to the reenactment, even though the said relatives have been urging us to for a while.

  3. Lacrosse– Americas oldest game! this was a game developed to keep the indians sharp for war. Sometimes the games could last for weeks (a lot like cricket). The playing field could be a forest, open field and had no endline or sidelines to play within. An occational death had been reported as the civilized rules we play under now were not in effect (anything goes). Yes the game is really 2 hours long…. the really cool rule that is not used in any other game is the “language foul”– miss throw the ball and yell s#$^ and you go and kneel for 30 seconds, un releasable.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

