we’ve been signed!

March 30, 2009 at 9:38 pm | Posted in Moving, Our Home | 9 Comments

Yep, it’s official.  Our sweet little house is for sale.  (Wanna buy it?)

Susan, our Realtor, came over yesterday to go over some paperwork and to check out the house for sale across the street.  Which, Jason has been informing people, has a GATEWAY TO HELL inside – specifically, through the oven.  DO NOT BUY! he says, OR THE DEMONS WILL COME OUT AND GET YOU.  Of course, all of this is sparked by the recent release of The Haunting in Connecticut, which is based on the scariest TLC show I’ve ever seen, which is based on TRUE, REAL, NOT-MADE-UP LIFE.  You know, if you believe in that sort of thing.  Which, I’m not sure I do, but that show was enough to give me nightmares for weeks.  If I ever end up in long-term therapy for my complete and total chicken-ness, it will probably be because I saw that show once 4 years ago and have residual emotional scarring as a result.  Yep, I blame this single 1-hr television show, and a slew of the Christopher Pike books I read as a pre-teen for my home alone angst.  But we can talk about that another time.

Because, despite having a gateway to hell in their oven, the house across the street has managed to score TWO offers in the week that they’ve been on the market.

Which is good news for us, since the only ghosts we’ve got over here are the ones that keep eating my chocolate.  Seriously.  I couldn’t have possibly eaten all of those whopper eggs by myself.

Anyways.  Yes, our house is unofficially officially on the market.  Which means that we’ve got a sign up suggesting that our house will be on the market on Thursday or Friday.  But it’s not quite on the market.  We have to pass our Minneapolis Truth in Sale of Housing inspection tomorrow.  We originally had it scheduled for last week, but due to a small plumbing war between the laundry sink and my very wet and very very angry husband, we have plumbers coming in the morning and an inspector coming in the afternoon tomorrow.

We’ve completed most of our duties, and are officially sore, tired, warn out, and frankly, a bit irritable.

I spent what seemed like the entire weekend washing windows.  It was not great – especially the part where I was hanging out of one window to wash the other.

All of this window washing gave me a lot of time to think.  And, what I think is: a.  I am a sucker for washing all of these windows, b.  Whoever buys this house better love these clean windows like a fat boy loves cake, and c.  Hey!  Window washing is kind of a good arm workout.

So if you’ve got dirty windows and flabby arms, buy yourself some windex.  It’s cheaper than a gym membership.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Did the M&M’s help to fuel the window washing?
    We used to have someone who washed windows for $4.00 each but obviously they went out of business at that price-much to my dismay. That was quite a deal! Good luck with the inspector!

  2. I love your cleaning supplies…..Windex, Paper Towels, Peanut M&Ms.

  3. Ha! Christopher Pike…I totally read all those books. The house looks great…I love your window-washing technique…at least you had M&Ms to keep you company!

  4. haha! What a great way to wash windows!! 🙂

  5. I just want to point out that the M&Ms were actually Jason’s – he came up to watch, laugh, and call 911 if I fell out the window.

    I did sneak a few when he wasn’t looking, though…

  6. I was going to say something about the M&Ms but it seems that’s what caught every one else’s attention!

  7. Hi, there! I’ve come here by the way of my friend at Gear Acres. Welcome to Michigan! I hope we treat you better than MN did! Loved your brick walkway. You did a really nice job. Good luck – I hope you get a buyer right away.

    p.s. I’ve heard that if you bury a St. Joseph statue in the front yard you will have good luck in selling.

    • Hi Sandy! Welcome! Thanks for the little note… from what we can tell, people from Michigan are amazingly friendly! 🙂 I’m sure we’ll enjoy our time there (and let’s all hope, for the sake of my sanity, that our time in MI is longer than it was in MN!).

      We currently have a home for sale in Kentucky – it’s been on the marker for 2 years with no luck, and we buried a St Joseph statue in the backyard of that house… so I am skeptical… but if the statue needs to go in the front yard, maybe the problem is that we did it all wrong? Hmm. Maybe we should take a trip to Kentucky to re-bury it… 🙂

  8. AHhhhh window washer could have done the whole house in a couple of hours and it would have been less than 100 bucks, sorry for the late notice!

    Didn’t you see karate kid? wax on wax off!!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

