Craigslist Joys

February 6, 2009 at 5:18 pm | Posted in Furniture, Our Home, Our Study | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

I’ve been scouring Craigslist lately, looking for a desk that will go with our new old banker’s chair.  I want something that looks like this:

Simple, square, 1930s era desk.  Said desk needs to be less than 44″ wide to fit in our little office.  And, in my dream world, this desk is under $50 and has few scratches (because, I think you guys persuaded me to re-stain the banker’s chair instead of painting, and I thought it would look nice if the desk and chair were stained similarly).  In case anyone is wondering, the above desk sold for $675.  So I might be dreaming here.

Anyways, the point is… this desk is hard to find.  But it’s okay, because I’m up for a challenge!  Unless any of you know where I can find one of these beauties (or can suggest a good alternative)…

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Uh…I grew up with a desk almost exactly like that (but in an ugly black color and significantly larger than you’d like) in our back playroom. I think I might encourage my dad to sell it.

  2. I think there’s a desk like that in my mom’s basement…up for a trip to Pittsburgh?

  3. I still like the paint the desk white, keep the chair natural idea…what do you think??? I thought you were getting white shelves, etc?

  4. Hmm… I am just so darn indecisive… maybe white would work. I found a desk w/this shape today that had already been partially painted white… $40 and they’d deliver… (which is crucial given the size of our car).

    And, Bill, I would love to visit you and your fam in Pittsburgh… not sure if the desk would fit in our car, but it would be fun (the visit, that is, not attempting to shove a desk in the trunk of my car).

  5. OMG I have a desk that is identical to this one. I’ll be listing it on Craig’s List in April but unfortunately I live in Champaign, IL.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

