No snow day for me!

January 28, 2009 at 9:36 pm | Posted in Silly | 5 Comments

Some of our friends and family in Kentucky and elsewhere were lucky enough to have snow days today…  (although, not so lucky to have power outages).  With only 5 days left until my big project is due, I found myself daydreaming about what I would do with a snow day (if my laptop was also disabled, thus rendering work an impossibility).  After putting in long, long days for the last few weeks, I am totally ready for a break.

So here’s what I’d do with my snow day:

  • wake up late and lounge around in my pjs ’till noon, sipping on a starbucks caramel macchiato and eating waffles, which my husband would pick up/make/serve.
  • take a long walk with Barley and J, taking pictures as we go (it is strangely warm on my snow day – at least 30 degrees!).
  • come home to find that the entire study has been primed and painted, so all I have to do to make it pretty is hang photos and arrange furniture (because we all know that’s the most fun part!).
  • also, the house is amazingly clean when I get home.  hmm…
  • drink hot cocoa.
  • take a warm bath in one of those tubs that has jets (no, we don’t have one).
  • drink wine and eat thai takeout by the fire with friends.

Yes, I’m clearly dreaming.  But… you gotta dream big, right?

And now, it’s your turn to daydream a little… what would you do with a snow day?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahh, a great snow day would be coming home to my cleaned out bedroom closet all organized and looking like California Closets was there, followed by walking through my house where all the photos were perfectly hung and arranged to look just right. I was having an upper back/neck massage while not being self conscious of my body and I didn’t even have to go out because the massage bed was brought to my house. Someone picked up a burrito bowl for dinner for me, but then left me alone to read a really good book while I soaked in the tub. Comet was taken care of by someone else the entire day until bedtime when he snuggled up next to me and went to sleep after a few kisses. (btw: Comet is not my husband’s name, he’s our dog. Everyone knows husbands don’t snuggle up then go to sleep!)

  2. We had a snow day today(finally)! It would have been fun to take a walk in the falling snow, however, the sleet soon started so that would have made it rather unpleasant.
    Our day wasn’t very different except that Jim enjoyed a day home and agreed to accompany me to a store to buy part of Jason’s birthday present. After I wrapped it , he was kind enough tp mail it at the post office.
    Now we can only hope that the freezing temps they are promising come so he’ll have another day off for ice.
    Your snow day sounds wonderful. I hope someday you have that tub with jets and a painted study you can admire with that wine in your hands!

  3. Oh My Gosh! That is so funny that you had to have a second “wedding” after your honeymoon! And how funny to have your reception at Stir Crazy. That’s awesome. I so enjoy learning more about you and watching your new life unfold as a newlywed!

    …and I highly recommend getting away to sun and warmth…it does amazing things for your pictures! ha! 😉

    Courtney

  4. Sounds like the perfect day to me. I grew up in Iowa and it had to be -50 and 10 inches of snow before anyone would get a snow day!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog the other day! I can’t wait to see you guys transform your charming house. I live, eat, and breathe this stuff =)

  5. You need a snowman in that front yard! That’s if it’s not -30 degrees.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

