Inspiration from Friends

January 7, 2009 at 7:57 pm | Posted in Inspiration | 1 Comment

I’ve been scouring the internet for awesome design finds recently, with the hope that it will inspire my own decor.  But I’ve realized that some of the best and most inspiring finds have come from the homes of our friends and family.  Knowing that our friends have put together something cool and functional (without the help of a design team) gives me hope that I’ll be able to do it in our house, when the time comes (and, let me tell you, the time better be coming soon because I’m done with the bare, beige walls and lack of organization up in here).

So, a few pictures.

First up: Melinda’s rowhome.  I *heart* rowhomes, and occasionally wish I lived in one.

Her comfy living room is stylish and inviting.  Check out JT on the couch – looks comfortable, right?  I totally dig the orange couch and the orange wood print on the curtains (Melinda made them herself!).  I also love the cool orange rug that Melinda found while traveling in California.  I love finding trinkets and prints when on vacation because every time I look at them, I’m reminded of the trip.  But a rug!  Genius.

I’m also inspired by her lamp find from a local reuse it store.  It originally came out of some sort of seedy lounge.  I see a trip to the Minneapolis reuse it store sometime in my future…

A close-up of Melinda’s curtain pattern from Joel Dewberry.  The fabric appears much lighter in person, possibly because she lined them in white thermal lining (a great idea for colder climates… it keeps the drafts out!).

Our friends, Phil and Nicki also have a sweet home, and their style is very similar to ours.  We were really impressed with their new kitchen remodel, especially after learning that Phil did most of the work himself (with the help of his father- and brother-in-law).  I love the contrast of the white cabinets with the darker countertops.  Both are Ikea, but Phil stained Ikea’s standard butcher block countertop and added a few coats of polyurethane to darken them up.

And, they served really yummy pizza that night, which made their kitchen that much cooler.


1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jennifer, sometime when you’re here look in my reuse it corner in the attic. You may find something that won’t even cost a dime!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

