Christmas 2008 Projects

January 5, 2009 at 9:59 pm | Posted in Holidays, Homemade | 3 Comments

I didn’t complete many projects for Christmas, but I thought I’d share the few that I did complete, now that all the gifts have been given.

First Project: Book plates.

For: my mom, who is a voracious reader, and who loans out her books a lot.   Ignore the bad picture and the name scrambled to protect the innocent.  I had a really great time making these, so if anyone else wants any, let me know and I might be able to arrange it!

Second Project: Picture Frames.

For: J’s sister.  This one isn’t really as crafty a project as the book plates or my home-designed Christmas cards, but I was still really excited about it.  Bridget recently moved into a new apartment and mentioned that she needed something to hang on the walls.  Instead of just giving her frames, I wanted to print out a bunch of photos so that she could just hang them on the wall.  I don’t know about you, but when I get empty photo frames, they tend to stay that way for quite a while before I manage to find something to put in them.  So I thought that, even if Bridget hates the pictures I chose, she can hang them as-is for a while and change them at her leisure.

You’ll notice that the upper right photo isn’t actually a photo.  Instead, I made a monogrammed piece.  I’ve seen quite a few monogrammed frames, pillows, plaques, etc lately and I think they’re charming.  So this is my version.  Using Illustrator, I bolded Bridget and her boyfriend, Sean’s first initials (B & S).  The text surrounding the initials is an Irish blessing, since Bridget (and actually all of J’s family) is fiercely proud of her Irish heritage, and because I thought the wording was appropriate for someone starting a new job and living in a new apartment.  The poem reads:

May love and laughter light your days,
and warm your heart and home.
May good and faithful friends be yours,
wherever you may roam.
May peace and plenty bless your world
with joy that long endures.
May all life’s passing seasons
bring the best to you and yours!


Third project: Picture Wall.

For:  J’s parents.  Jason and I gave his parents a few of our wedding pictures to add to their picture wall for Christmas.  But!  Their picture wall was pretty full already…  So when they left to go to the Cape on new year’s eve, and jokingly told us that we could rearrange their photo wall, we took them up on it.  Here’s the before photo:

I pulled all of these pictures off the wall, added the new ones that we gifted them, and arranged them on the floor.  Once I was happy with the new arrangement, we began hanging.  We tried to use as many of the nail holes that were already in the walls as possible, and we also tried to cover any nail holes that we didn’t use so that J’s parent’s wouldn’t be left with a hideously holed-up wall.

There is something seriously nerve-wracking about putting holes in your in-laws walls, but I persevered. I actually have a hard time putting holes in ANY wall (which is why we don’t have any pictures hung in the house) because I’m always afraid that I’ll change my mind later and then have to patch all of the walls.  So apologies to J’s parents for any holes that we made that you may have to patch in the future.

Anyways, here’s the finished product:

I’m pretty happy with the way this turned out.  I added plastic footing to the backs of the pictures so that they would stay straight – because if one picture is out of line, it’s really obvious.  I hope J’s parents love it, and if they don’t, they can always take it down or switch up the pictures.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We ABSOLUTELY love what you did with the wall!!! I’m sorry if you didn’t get the message I left you (or if Jason didn’t tell you). I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said something has to be done with that wall. I told myself I’d do it when we painted but that wasn’t getting done either.
    Of course, you know, this means you’ll now have to paint the wall for us because we won’t want to remove the pictures! LOL
    Thanks again! You’re a doll!

  2. You could go to a craft fair and sell your book plates( in all that spare time you have)- take orders to personalize them. They are adorable!

  3. I *heart* my book stickers!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

