Christmas Decor: Part 2

December 8, 2008 at 8:03 pm | Posted in Holidays, Our Dining Room | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

And now, for the riveting conclusion to our holiday decorating adventures…

The dining room.

I pulled out the red and green holiday table runner (I think I stole this one from mama Perry a while ago), since we’re going for a fun holiday vibe in the dining room this year.  Maybe we’ll go a little more formal with it next year, when we’ve actually unpacked all of our boxes, and are really using our dining room as a formal place of entertainment (one can dream, right?).  Anyways, I pulled out the little candle holders from our wedding centerpieces and the big glass candle holders we received as wedding gifts, and I planted some little red and green ornaments in them.  So festive.  And super-easy.  I also lined the table with goodies, since we have absolutely no room for them in the kitchen.  From left to right: the chocolate-covered pretzels Sanna and I made, candy canes hanging off of a margarita glass (a fun way to display them), cookies from Saturday’s cookie exchange, and a bucket of Jason’s favorite chocolate treats.

I think I might need to buy some red candlesticks.

I had a great time decorating the built-ins in the dining room with ornaments.  On the right built-in cabinet, I simply placed 3 silver ornaments on the cute pink cookie tray (the tray belonged to my great-grandma Pilling, and apparently, I asked if I could have it when I was younger… so my gramma gave it to me when I grew up and moved into a real house of my very own.  I don’t actually remember asking for the tray, but I love it and it’s so fun to have on display!!).

I also hung a key for Santa on the bottom cabinet door.

In the upper part of the cabinet, I strategically placed silver, red, and green ornaments in some of the glassware that we’ve got on display.  Add a little snowman statue for fun, and an adorable vintage Season’s Greetings sign, and tada!  All done.

I decorated the left built-in similarly.

I put some silver ornaments on our white cake plates (another awesome wedding gift) and added a shimmery ribbon for fun.  I only dropped one glass ornament in the process (and then promptly decided to tie the rest to the platter so that they don’t all fall off).  And check out the sweet nativity that I stole was given by my parents.  I thought it was so cool when I was younger… I loved how the kings and shepherds rotated around Mary, Joseph, and Jesus.  Classic!  (Note that both of these pieces are sitting on a picture of the St. Olaf College class of 1951 photo.  We found it in the basement, cleaned it off and set it here for lack of a better place to put it, but I kind of think it works.)

For the upper cabinet on this side, I once again added red, green, and silver ornaments to a few of our glasses, snuck a Santa into the mix, and added a little hanging sign to the door – a super-easy way to add some holiday cheer to our normal dish display!

Our final dining room decor item is a ribbon that we threw over the curtain rod.  I plan to clip all of the holiday cards we receive on the ribbon, so get working on your holiday cards (orders the girl who has yet to even order wedding thank you cards, much less Christmas cards)!

PS I made my blog snow – do you love it?  I do.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s so cool how you made the blog snow. There is no end to your talents is there? At least I’m not developing cataracts or spots before my eyes! The place looks adorable!

  2. Your house looks wonderful!!!!!!!! I haven’t even started to make things look like Christmas. Seeing how it is what I call “inlaws” year and I don’t share very well, I haven’t gotten in the mood yet. I baked one batch of cookies and GraGG did away with them. I get the feeling it’s a losing battle. I love the snow too, as long as it doesn’t pile up to high! (on your blog that is)
    Love, GGG

  3. I forgot to mention, if you slide the mouse around you can make the snow come from a different direction. Very interesting. Sometimes it looks like a blizzard!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

