Bye, Bye Fall

December 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm | Posted in Holidays | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Winter is here!  Brr.  The wind today had an extra-harsh bite to it.

Anyways, we’re about to get the Christmas decorations out, but I realized that I have yet to show you my pathetic attempt at fall-ish decor.  So, I will treat you to some pictures, mostly because next year I plan to do a better job at seasonal decor, and then you will be able to say, “oooh!  so much better than last year!” or “try again, loser.”

(And, just for the record, I am still distracting you from the fact that we have not finished scraping the wallpaper in the study.)

I received this wreath from some of my favorite ex-babysitting clients at the bridal shower thrown for me by my parent’s neighbors.  It’s so festive, but I wasn’t sure how to hang up wreaths on the front door yet (okay, it’s not that complicated, but I was a bit lazy about it), so I plopped it down on the coffee table in the sunroom.  Add a few candles from the wedding, and it kind of looks like it meant to go here all along.

The ceramic pumpkin was also a gift from the ex-babysitting clients, and the wire pumpkin was from my sister.  Setting them on this side table was a super-easy way to decorate the place. And, if I need to hide things (like candy), the ceramic pumpkin is a great place to do so. (Also note that the lamp was a gift from my grandparents, because they light up my life.  Literally AND figuratively.)

We also got these candle holders and table runner as wedding gifts from friends.  They are perfect for fall!  I tried to put a little “fall foliage” in the candle holders, but didn’t do a very good job… I have ideas for decorating these babies (as in, the candle holders, not actual babies that grow in my belly that every. single. relative asked about over Thanksgiving) for Christmas, so you may see them again…

Hey!  If you were at the wedding, you’ve seen these before – they were part of our candle centerpieces.  And they’re perfect (and easily assembled) fall decorations.  Throw them on a side table, and ta da!

So, I think if we’ve learned anything today, it’s that 1. I didn’t do a great job decorating for fall, and 2. if it weren’t for the wedding, there would be no fall decorations.

Really important stuff.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love your decorations! I like the wreath on the table idea better than I would like it on a door.Candles are always a good idea.
    Can’t wait to see the Christmas decorations and can’t wait to see you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

