Bah Humbug.

November 24, 2008 at 9:31 pm | Posted in Holidays | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

I’ll be honest – I haven’t been as jazzed up about Christmas this year as I usually am.

I think it might be a combination of the following a) Thanksgiving isn’t over yet, b) I just threw the biggest party of my life and am all partied out, c) I just want our house painted/decorated for normal everyday life and am not ready to decorate for the holidays.

Whatever it is, I hope it resolves itself soon.

In the meantime, the little boy scout from down the street delivered our wreath last week, and I decided to take advantage of the balmy above-freezing weather over the weekend to hang it.

I’m not really impressed. Maybe it’s the front door… I’ve wanted to replace it with something a little more classic/1920s/farmhouse ever since we moved in. Then again, the top half of the wreath is sort of folding over, so maybe that’s it? Hmm.

In any case, I think the wreath goes especially well with the other two pitiful elements of our current holiday display: the half-dead evergreen and the tree with few branches.

Only the top of this evergreen is still living, but I wrapped the dead parts in lights, too.

I actually really love this tree.  But Christmas lights would look better here (or at least be easier to hang) if it were branchy-er.

And now… tada!  The complete look:

Our trinity of holiday ugly: bright orange extension cord, half-dead tree, and wreath that is pitifully falling over on itself.

(PS Am I supposed to put lights on those low-to-the-ground bushes? They’re so awkward.)

Sigh.  Maybe next year’s outdoor display will be more impressive?  Let’s hope so.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. cool pics, sad tree


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

