bathroom oops.

May 25, 2009 at 8:21 pm | Posted in Before, During, Our Full Bathroom, Projects | 11 Comments

Remember when I said we decided to start with our master bedroom?  Well, the wallpaper border came down far too easily, and I wanted to see if the bathroom wallpaper would tear down just as easily.

In retrospect, that was either brilliant or incredibly stupid.

Here’s the bathroom before:

The wallpaper in the bathroom came down easily.  So easily, in fact, that I decided the carpet squares on the walls had to go, too.  And then, the cabinet, shower doors and plastic shower surround.

And, once we had those things down, it was easy enough to remove the remaining tile, lights, mirror, and fan.  Demo is too much fun!

Now we just have to figure out how to put it all back together (because we’ll be living at J’s apartment until our only shower is functional).  See?  Brilliant or seriously idiotic.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The third option is seriously OCD.

  2. I do the same thing, except I would probably have taken a sledgehammer to the toilet and bathtub. Making sure they was no way to relieve myself or clean myself. I usually have those DOH! moments.

  3. Lol, I wondered if that was your only bathroom and thought surely they wouldn’t rip out the shower surround if they didn’t have another bathroom to rely on!

    So when do the movers arrive?

    • That’s our only bathroom with a shower! We have a half bath on the main level that can still be used, but we’ll be showering at the apartment Jason temporarily rented when he first moved here until we can get it fixed. Which, will hopefully be soon!

      Movers come Thursday!

  4. haha! Can’t wait to see how you “put it back together”!

  5. Brilliant: you still have Jason’s apartment and thus a place to poo and pee.

  6. Remove the tub! remove the tub!!! dual head shower stall or even better…..
    http://www.brilliantshowers.com/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=37&cat=Platinum

    • Sounds great! Should I send the bill to you?

      • Nope…. just need to put off the SS brewing pots for a few years….
        Anyway some of the setups seemed to be almost the same cost as a new tub and tile work.

  7. Judging from the “before” pictures I think this was your best bet…demo and start over!!

  8. I dunno…I still think that carpet on the wall would have been a great way to dry off after the shower AND help the planet while saving laundry detergent, water and the energy to clean towels.

    PS I love the flowers in your new backyard!!!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.